3.01pm

If you watch my vlogs, you might remember one a while back called In Search of Bill Bryson:

As you might have guessed from the title, I was unsuccessful in my hunt for a Bill Bryson book. Not long after that I finally found one hidden away in the large print section of our local library so I scooped it up with glee.

Because it was my first Bill Bryson experience, I wasn’t too sure what to expect, but what I got was a very entertaining read, one done with such skill that mundane things such as the origin of window glass were very interesting. That, in a nutshell, is the essence of the book – Bryson walks around his house and explains the history of all the little things that we take for granted in our life, things that are so commonplace now that they barely warrant a second glance, things that were groundbreaking in their time.

I mentioned earlier that I read a large print version so this book was big. Not sure if that is because it was large print or if it is in fact a thick work, but whatever the case, the facts never get boring, and what the heck, you get to learn something along the way!

This was a thoroughly enjoyable read.

 

Leave a Reply

