7.27pm

For some reason, I had no idea that the movie The Exorcist was based on a book until I heard it mentioned on a podcast. I enjoyed the movie, although I didn’t think it was scary, but as piece of cinematic history, it has an important place. Which makes it all the more odd that not many people know that it is based on a novel.

The book and the movie follow much the same path as each other, but of course the novel has the opportunity to go into much more detail. The section that recounts Regan’s possession was very well written, and I especially enjoyed how the few moments when Pazuzu let Regan speak were handled. You could sense her desperation and her confusion as to what was going on.

Chris MacNeil and Father Karras are also given good development, but there was one character that just annoyed me and who I think was written poorly; Detective Kinderman. In fact I would go as far to say that he could be completely cut out of the storyline and you wouldn’t even notice.

That aside, the tension and action winds tighter and tighter with descriptions that make things easy to visualise, and then, when the end comes, everything comes to a screeching halt and a satisfying conclusion.

It’s an interesting read that flows along nicely – I got through it in around two weeks of train commuting.

Leave a Reply

